WhatsApp is testing secret code feature for locked chats; Channel username reportedly in the works

WhatsApp has started testing a new feature that allows you to hide secret chats on the messaging app. With the latest beta version of WhatsApp for Android, you can set a secret code that will allow you to hide specific chats from the main list. Currently, WhatsApp allows you to swipe down on the chat list to open your hidden chats, but the new feature will also hide them from view until a secret code is entered. Meanwhile, WhatsApp is also working on developing a feature that will allow you to set usernames for channels.

After updating to WhatsApp beta for Android 2.23.24.20, you will be able to set a secret code for hidden chats on the messaging app. To do this, open the list of locked chats and tap the three-dot menu at the top chat lock settings > Toggle Hide locked chats And enter a memorable secret code. WhatsApp specifically asks you to choose a memorable secret code because resetting your secret code will clear all your locked chats.

Hide WhatsApp Locked Chats Gadgets360 WhatsApp

WhatsApp’s new secret code feature
Photo Credit: Screenshot/Whatsapp

Once you hide your locked chats, they will no longer be visible locked chat The category that appears when you swipe down on the home screen. Instead, you have to enter the secret code in the search bar to open the hidden (and locked) chat list.

The feature to hide locked chats will prevent someone using your phone from detecting the presence of a locked chat on your phone – instead of simply swiping down, they have to enter your secret code.

If you want to go back to the previous locking mechanism that protects chats from your fingerprint, you can toggle Hide locked chats After entering your secret code, follow the steps mentioned above. Swiping down on the main chat list will make locked chats visible once again.

Meanwhile, feature tracker WABetaInfo spotted a new feature in development that will allow users to Set a username for channels, According to the tracker, once the username is set, subscribers to your channel will be able to enter the username to open the channel. This feature is still being worked on, so beta testers will not be able to try out the feature until it is rolled out to the beta channel at a later date.


Affiliate links may be automatically generated – see our ethics statement for details.

Leave a comment