WhatsApp releases view-at-once photos, videos for desktop apps, web: report

WhatsApp already offers a disappearing messages feature that deletes a message sent after a set period of time. WhatsApp users can also send photos and videos that can only be viewed once before being erased from the chat. However, the latter feature is currently only available for Android and iOS users. This feature was previously introduced on the desktop and web versions of the application but was removed due to security concerns. Now, a report suggests that the social media platform is reintroducing the “View Once” photo and video feature to WhatsApp Web and WhatsApp desktop versions.

According to WABetaInfo report, WhatsApp is rolling out the View Once feature for photos and videos on the web and desktop versions of the app. In the screenshot shared in the report, the button to set the “View Once” option for media is seen within the caption bar in the drawing editor on the WhatsApp for Windows platform. The report says that the company is enabling this “view at once” photos and videos option for linked devices like Windows, macOS, and iPad. According to the report, the app is also expanding this feature on WhatsApp Web platform.

This feature is now being rolled out for eligible users. According to the report it has already been made available to some users in the last few weeks. If you don’t see the option on any of your desktop or web apps yet, it’s likely coming eventually. Make sure applications are updated to their latest version.

The report states that the Meta-owned platform is re-introducing the feature on desktop and web which they had initially removed upon public suggestions and demands. Security issues were cited in the initial removal. However, feedback from users suggests that the “View Once” feature is a helpful aspect as it helps in viewing any media file without wasting the phone’s storage space.

In related news, starting in December, WhatsApp backups on Android will continue to work as long as users have cloud storage space available on their Google accounts. If one reaches one’s storage limit, one must free up space on Google Drive to resume the backup. In particular, if you don’t want your chats to take up storage, you can turn on the “disappearing messages” option in the app.

WhatsApp has also added a service to prompt users to add their email address to their WhatsApp account. However, this will not be visible to your WhatsApp contacts, but will instead serve as a secondary identifier after your phone number, where the app can send verification codes and similar things.


Affiliate links may be automatically generated – see our ethics statement for details.

Leave a comment